Don’t Be the Bear

My parents always told me, “Practice what you preach.” and I do, though admittedly imperfectly. I try, and when I get it wrong, I try to make it right. I am not ashamed of that. We mortals are imperfect. The key is to reach for perfection – the holiness of God – rather than to wallow in our baser natures.

A college friend used to say, “If you mess up, ‘fess up, and clean up.” It was a simple action plan for what some theologians call “linear sanctification.” I just call it Christian faithfulness lived out in the real world.

Through the years, I have met at least my share of self-righteous, judgmental people. An encounter with one of them after a lapse of judgment is like meeting a bear on the way home after a trip-and-fall on a rocky trail. You’re already sore and bleeding. What you need is a friend to help you clean your wounds and tend your bruises, but instead, you must endure being mauled and mangled.

I usually encourage people to live out their faith. I major in encouraging. But like most folks in Christian leadership, I know I must minor in correction, so here I go. Quit holding others to a higher standard than you are able to hold. Allow others to “mess up, fess up, and clean up” without berating them. In a lapse of judgment, friends need your support as they go about the process of confessing and making amends. Offer it.

I know, some of you are worried that softening the blow of consequences of sin at least borders on enabling the sinner. Yes, there is a fine line between helping the rising saint and colluding with the sinner. But a fine line can be a bright line, so look for it, and be that faithful helper as often and as long as you can.

Be the helper, not the bear. One day you will be the wounded traveler limping up the path. Right now, be the person you hope to meet then. Scold a little if you must but be as gentle as you can. Skinned knees hurt, but a broken spirit is exquisitely painful. Handle it with pure compassion.

But do you suppose this, you foolish person who passes judgment on those who practice such things, and yet does them as well, that you will escape the judgment of God? Or do you think lightly of the riches of His kindness and restraint and patience, not knowing that the kindness of God leads you to repentance? But because of your stubbornness and unrepentant heart you are storing up wrath for yourself on the day of wrath and revelation of the righteous judgment of God, who will repay each person according to his deeds: to those who by perseverance in doing good seek glory, honor, and immortality, He will give eternal life; but to those who are self-serving and do not obey the truth, but obey unrighteousness, He will give wrath and indignation. There will be tribulation and distress for every soul of mankind who does evil, for the Jew first and also for the Greek, but glory, honor, and peace to everyone who does what is good, to the Jew first and also to the Greek. For there is no partiality with God.

Paul in Romans 2:3-11 NASB

4 thoughts on “Don’t Be the Bear

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.